My review: Oreo Creme Egg

Simply labeled ‘Oreo’ it looks exactly like a blue Cadburys Crème egg, not very inventive and tiny as anything. Package graphics done by the laziest of designers. Aren’t they at least supposed to be called Oreo Crème Egg or something?

img_0083

For size reference. Pathetically small

For size reference I have it next to my Blerch stress ball/voodoo doll.

Sidebar rant: Size and quality of Cadbury’s Crème eggs have declined drastically so off the top I can’t necessarily recommend ever buying these full price at Easter. That being said, this was a gift from my lovely colleague Brent and it is still January and these are now in the stores for $1.29 at my local Pharmasave.

The quality I mentioned? The shell seemed much thinner than I recalled, and the chocolate gone in an instant. Like, two bites gone leaving only the slightest whiff of chocolate and a greasy feeling on my teeth. The inside was curious, not quite a fondant, more like the delicious dirty-pleasure of eating Duncan Hines frosting straight out of the can, mixed with some mildly interesting crunchy cookie pieces. Not outstanding but not offensive, and I also immediately wanted to eat like, 10 of them.

img_0085

Eating this reminded me of the time I bought and hoarded close to 30 Crème eggs in my freezer one year. That was a great year.

I can say this is a nice one to try on sale, if you like frosting out of the can. Also, if you find the actual Crème egg too sweet due to the fondant, give this one a try. It’s different, I’ll give it that.

Leave a Reply

