The best version of myself

Had a dressage lesson last night, and it was not easy. It was actually really tough. It was hard on Oats emotionally, and he tried some drama in his horse language “This is HARD” and “I don’t want to DO this” but you know what? Since my journey with Oats, I have been trying to not buy into any horse-drama.

And it has been working. I wants Oats to see the best version of myself, all the time.

We worked on developing some lateral techniques (renvers or travers? This is not my area of expertise, obviously hahah) and it was very challenging. The key here was to TRY. Keep trying. It is not perfect, and it will not be perfect. Keep going.

And since I am on a random video rampage, enjoy this video of Oats and I doing some coursework outdoors in 2015 (this is the same day he spooked while I was leadlining my mom and she fell off and broke her arm!).

Karen likened it to the horse ‘hokey pokey’ haha.

“You put your right bend in, you bring you left shoulder out, you keep the hip on the rail…” A big horse pretzel!

Oats had some hissy fit moments, where he got very bottled up and hopped into canter, and then started rooting. I kind of wanted to get fussy with him, but Karen reminded me that he’s just expressing himself, which he is allowed to do, and all I have to do is keep working on the exercise. It will work itself out! And it sort of did? ha.

Oats did find the work very emotionally challenging, poor pony. I am working on rewarding the ‘try’ in this type of work, rather than the success of the movement.

It’s funny- a year ago, we wanted forward, forward forward! And now, all he wants to offer is forward and we’re like no, how about we slow it down, and collect it, rather than flying or charging through the exercise? And Oats is like, whaa?

Poor pony, the rules are changing and developing and making life a bit tougher for him.

He got wormed last night too, before he even knew what was going on it was in his mouth and he was like gackkkkkk! Awww….

Leave a Reply

