Obviously an expert: Weekend recap!

Another weekend, another fun-friends-filled-fueled-good time!

14938282_10157705026085191_1727401601170402656_n

Good friends, good times!

This weekend was brought to me courtesy of drinks with an old friend and my boss on Friday (with moules et frites happy hour, and Angry Orchard ciders. Yum). Then on Saturday, I dragged my patient husband out to the barn, where he moved poles for me while I rode. It was a good ride, fun and fairly non-eventful.

We then ran a bunch of errands, gave some apples to my parents, and went on a 7km run in the pouring rain…

Because I got totally soaked, I decided to forgo my shower and blow-dry my hair. Why the fancy? I had a surprise birthday to go to! I left early to make sure I didn’t get lost on the way (I am super terrible with directions, like, can’t figure them out for the life of me) and last time I went to a surprise party, we got lost and showed up as the birthday girl was coming for her surprise party?! So yeah, I didn’t want to ruin yet another surprise party!!

Got there in plenty of time with my meatballs in tow. Lots of friends came and our friend was VERY surprised. YES!!! A success!! I ate so much good food, oh man…moose chili, mac and cheese, potato bacon soup, meatballs, salad, cheese and crackers tray, lemon squares, nanaimo squares, cheesecake bites (OMG!!) and the crowing achievement of the night: A Lighthouse cake featuring marzipan icing, Grand Marnier mousse, chocolate cake, orange and raspberry filling. SO GOOD. I ate wayyyy too much…Everything in moderation right? Including moderation? I had at least three of everything!!!

14915289_10157705026180191_7005198854872053224_n

THE cake. So good!

I got home around 11pm, perfect because the clocks went back, and I had tons of time to get up in the morning for my 17km run *(I wasn’t planning on running that far, but it was such a beautiful morning, the sun was shining off the ocean, it was warm out, so I ran to the lookout point along Dallas Rd).

A gorgeous day, and a lovely day for a run. It made me feel glad to be alive, lucky to be able to run/ride like I do, and content for now, ha, with my life. For a few hours, it felt like everything was as it should be…

Came home, ate breakfast and then zipped out for a ride. Oats got to meet my friend’s Happy Birthday balloon (he was afraid at first and hid behind me, and then got brave hahahahah), and then I had a fun ride where I was going to do some homework, but saw a bunch of cute jumps set up and wheee jumping instead.

Came home later, and joined my husband and Gidget in goofing off in the tennis courts trying to get a good rally going.

A great weekend. I am spoiled with so many fun things to do and great people to do them with!

Leave a Reply

