Saddle updates-tomorrow it is!

Lucky me I get my revamped saddle tomorrow! One more day (my lesson today) of borrowing my trainer’s saddles and then yes, all mine.

f4cf0d4e-f2ed-4b00-ae5c-217d45fd2dc0

Soon, back to the indoor for good…

But last night’s ride saw me using my trainer’s school horse saddle. It is a fine saddle, but I forgot that last time I used it I had to wrap the stirrup leathers TWICE! Who are these giants with long legs?

So, I wrapped it once and rode with stirrups that were juuuuust a bit too long. It was kind of awkward…But doable. And as it was getting quite dark out, and I was riding in the outdoor arena, I made do and worked it. I was happy to ride in the outdoor at all- given the weather and losing the light at night, anytime I can get out there and ride is a good night!

AND my trainer had my old friend out to school her horse- he used to ride Oats for me when Oats was a total jerkface, and he is such a lovely, talented and confident rider. I was glad to see him again and I liked watching him work my trainer’s horse. He rode her really well, and it was a pleasure to watch.

Super nice to reconnect with old friends.

He said Oats was looking really good! I said all thanks to your hard work on him a few years ago (how many was it?? 2 or 3 now??) and then just persevering though it all.

We lost the light, and I was riding in the dark. Oats was so perfect! Not spooky at all with the darkness. In those times, I really appreciate how good he can be and how honest–no silly behaviour at night in the fall, riding in the dark.

Fun times- nothing earth-shattering, but just a good, fun ride with friends.

Leave a Reply

