Beer Week event recap: Pizza, Beer and more Beer!

My lovely husband bought tickets to this ages ago, in December, for my Christmas present! I had been counting down the days to be able to go…And then it was yesterday!

For the uninformed, Beer Week has been going on for three years, I learned last night. It’s a week of educational and fun beer learning/drinking/eating events. Too many to list here, so here is the site to check it out: Victoria Beer Week March 4-12, 2016.

We went to the second seating at Prima Strada, a very fine pizza establishment. The name of the game? Pizza and beer pairings, the more unique, the better! I was HUNGRY too, having ridden Oats very quickly beforehand and zipped home to change…

We bought a beer while we were waiting for the festivities to begin. Seating is the long-table style of dining, which is pretty cool but always seems to end up with me going for a seat, and then the person next to it saying they were saving it for someone…Every time! Jeesh.

Anyways, there was a lot of ‘other’ seats available, so we had our choice. And even better, we ended up with brewery representatives at the table too, sitting across from us. They were super cool, and really pleasant.

Here is how it went down: Four beers from four different breweries, and four unusual pizza pairings. It started VERY strong, with a Townsite beer that was like 9%!! It took me ages to drink it, hahah. The pizza pairing was light, roasted root veggies with gremolata and mozzarella. I didn’t love this pizza. It was very ‘eh’…

The next one wowed me though- Driftwood beer paired with Thai-style coconut yogurt with basil pizza. SO GOOD! Yummmmm. I could eat/drink a lot of this one.

And then we had another amazing pizza- and bear with me, because I thought it sounded bizarro at first…Creamed brussel sprout pizza with very salty bacon? It was SO GOOD! It was paired with a surprisingly drinkable IPA from Yellow Dog Brewery. (I usually really hate the bitterness in IPAs so this one was a nice depart actually).

And it wrapped up with a beer that was a real showstopper- Category 12’s special cocoa nib/coffee stout. Wow. It was so dense and rich, and coffeelike, that I swear it kept me up at night! It was paired with a really cool pizza- pulled pork with red cabbage. I know, you’re thinking–red cabbage? On a pizza? But it totally worked.

A great event, we were wrapped up by 10pm and it started at 8pm. Now I can’t wait to try some other awesome Beer Week events!

Leave a Reply

