MEC Big Wild Challenge 2015- Race Review~

First up, know that this is no ordinary race. It’s not even a race at all- no timing mats! Crazy eh?

It’s more of an ‘adventure’ run through the trails of East Sooke Park, starting at Aylard Farms. I signed up primarily because I was planning on running with a friend who unfortunately was injured the week before and was unable to run, but no matter! We were going to do it anyways in her honour 🙂

Me looking weird at the start...photo courtesy of MEC.

Me looking weird at the start…photo courtesy of MEC.

We did the 12k distance and it’s funny but I was contemplating the 21k distance (jesus, so glad I didn’t) initially and then didn’t sign up for it. THANK GOD. The 12k, for your reference, took me about 1:55:30? Yeah, so the 12k took me longer to ‘run’ than a half marathon. I know, I know!

This was because of the trail. Wild, wooly, wet and slippery. The trail is no joke. I put run in quotations because I didn’t even end up running much during the race, it was more scrambling and climbing over rocks, boulders and tree roots. Something I tend to suck spectacularly at. I slipped hard a couple times and fell about three times, one time on a bit of a cliffside and man, that freaked me out!

My arms hurt after the race, mostly because I was using them to pull myself up, or down, on the trail. Crazy eh?

I was covered in mud after, even had a pretty fancy dirt unibrow going on after much to the amusement of my friends. At the turn-around, they had these nice ‘Go’ bar samples, so I stuffed one in my pants, gulped some Gatorade, and turned around and kept hoofing it. I was sweating so much it was running into my eyes, and I think that’s where the dirt unibrow came from- me rubbing my eyes with my grubby paws.

I was afraid of hurting myself. That kept me from really enjoying myself. The trail seemed like a great place to fall and hit your head, or break an ankle…

Looking relatively fresh at the finish...Photo courtesy of MEC.

Looking relatively fresh at the finish…Photo courtesy of MEC.

So it was quite a hairy experience, I’m glad I did it, but unlike my friends–I’m not sure I would do it again! I’ve now done two trail races and quite frankly I am a bit too competitive to let it go on the trail–I want to race! Also I’m pretty terrible at trail running- just not agile or balanced enough I suppose and that affects my confidence.

I was so thirsty after too, which surprised me–it was not a warm day, it was chilly and drizzly but I suppose my exertion was very great.

The food after was excellent! Small wrap bites, smoked cheese, pasta salad (yum!), juice, coffee, really soft cookies, two-bite brownies, bananas. I can’t complain about the food, it was super tasty! Too bad my hands were filthy, haha.

12045258_10100455741273856_815698574016272493_o

I had some scratches on my wrists, and legs and mud splattered all the way up my legs. It was time to go home, shower, and then zip off to catch Brave Shores at Rifflandia!

Leave a Reply

