Party all the time!! Rifflandia update 2015

Writing this reminds me how tired I am. Man…it was a long and crazy weekend, guys!

Yeehaaaw

Yeehaaaw

I came in to work early on Friday so I could zip out a bit early and catch The Dears, which has been 10 + years in the making. Sad story about The Dears- I had tickets to see them one time a few years ago, and completely blanked on the day…I thought the show was on the Saturday and it was on the Friday. EFF my life!

So this year I was GOING to see them.

And I did, and they were great! I wished the set was longer…They ended with Lost in the Plot and it was fantastic. So good.

So, Rifflandia 2015 was off to a better start for sure. The sucky part was that Chromeo was sick and cancelled, so The Arkells had to step up to the plate. And the good news? They sure did step up! I also caught a bit of A Tribe Called Red (First Nations DJ-style) and while the music may not have been to my taste exactly, the traditional costumes and hoop-dancing sure were, very impressive!

I didn’t hit any night stages this year- I know, I know…But I am starting to learn a bit more about myself and I learned that if I want to commit to the day stage, I can’t seem to muster the energy for the night stages. Something’s gotta give, and for me, Rifflandia is a lot about the music, and not so much about the party.

Also- I had a trail race to run on Saturday AM so I had to conserve *some* of my energy haha. More on that tomorrow!

After the trail race Saturday, I was scratched up, dirty and muddy–so I drove home, hopped into the shower and then we hoofed it back to Rifflandia for the 2pm show- Brave Shores! They were SO GOOD~ A new band to watch, I suppose? They wrapped up with their fab hit- Never come down and yes, it was as good as you would think! We caught snippets of Plants and Animals but honestly, their sound is a bit too much like Hey Rosetta! for my liking..

Then we chilled at Logan’s for a bit with some lunch- yes my second lunch of the day- and cheaper beers. Can you believe that beer was $7 this year and ciders were $8? What a freaking ripoff! So, we left the venue and got cheaper beer at Logan’s.

We then caught some Neon Indian, and he was a disappointment. Just…not right. Didn’t particularly enjoy him at all. The Zolas, on the other hand, were fabulous. I was feeling the vibe SO well then..yesss…Moving on to Big Data, which was pretty good. Have to say, they were funny, engaging and had a real lively sound. Most likely wouldn’t see them on their own though, just not enough there for me.

Then on to Tokyo Police Club at the mainstage, which never disappoint, though their newer stuff is just…not my taste. Their old stuff remains a biiig fav.

Headliners for Saturday were Modest Mouse, and man, their lead singer has really toned it down in recent years. Music is still rockin’, but last time I saw him, 9 or so years ago, he was drunk onstage, had a bottle of Jim Beam with him, and was smoking and cursing at the audience. This year? No cursing, no smoking except for maybe an e-cig, and no booze. Guess he went straight? Well good for him, he had quite the reputation…

And they played Dramamine. YES YES YES! The only thing that would have been better was if they played Sleepwalkers but I can’t get too greedy.

Then Ian and I zipped off to Fifth St. to grab our Rifflandia specials- $10 margarita and wings. Worth it.

The next morning I got up fairly early and went riding- Oats was kind of like, who are you again? And then packed it in quickly to go have brunch with my friend at her place, with her friends. We all had crepes! It was lovely.

Ian and I headed home to take Gidget out and have another beer, before heading back to Rifflandia for the final day. We ended up catching some Tacocat (woman’s punk), Hollerado- surprisingly good, Emancipator (did not like. It would be good laying around on the grass music, but it was rainy and I was tired, needed ‘more’!), and Julian Casablanca+the Voids (so weird. angry yelly rock. he looked freaking strung out and high), and then Mother Mother!

Mother Mother was the best, hands-down. Though Hollorado was fab too- they had a hilarious story about hitching a ride with some young uni guys ”mathematicians” or somebody to Tall Tree music festival and they asked if they guys wanted a beer or something…and the kids were like, no thanks, we don’t drink…

And then like 8 hours later Hollorado sees the kids and they’re running around painted like Smurfs tripping balls…

Ha!

So, all in all, a festival worth attending year after year. If you do one festival, do Rifflandia!

Leave a Reply

