Winning at winning?

Didn’t ride yesterday because…We went to the Foxstone Stable winter series awards dinner!!

Because I’m kind of dumb about the idea of year-end awards, I didn’t really think it through (because let’s face it, my and Oats’ performance rarely merits awards so that is not my first idea when signing up. Getting around is kind of the end goal…) I had one champion division at crosspoles, and one champion division at 2′. SO that meant I was the lucky recipient of two fourth-place year-end awards!

The other side of me was like, huh genius, maybe you should have kept in one division- added those two fourths into something a little better? But then the other side of me says- shut up! You had a really fun time at the shows, and they were GREAT experiences for you and Oats. Be glad with what you did, and think about what fun you’ll have next year maybe!

(Plus, the awards at the shows themselves are really great too!)

Great horse show prizes!

Great horse show prizes!

Anyways I didn’t have time to ride, we zipped out ASAP and attended the dinner. And wow, the awards are so generous! For my fourth places, I won Antares leather conditioners- two containers of it in total. I figure the price is something around $25/container. Not too shabby! My friend was reserve champ and made out like a bandit!! Antares saddle pad, a huger ribbon, AND she won the draw for the leather halter (jealous!!) and won a $200 bursary cheque for more horse-related activities. Wow!!!

Winter series awards

Winter series awards

I’m sold on the winter series- they are so fun, and they really seem to be interested in giving back.

Fun times all around!

And- I have been particularly lucky lately. As I mentioned, at the show I won the draw for my division entries, which is fabulous AND last week I won a Granville Island Brewery date night crate valued at $200. Photos below: We are eating our way through it this week and I LOVE it. Yum!!

Granville Island Brewery crate

Granville Island Brewery crate

  • Two s’mores from Butter Bakery
  • A tin of crab pate
  • Brie
  • Hand made crackers
  • Butter cookies
  • Sea salt caramel chocolate bar
  • Cappuccino truffles
  • Two bags of Hard Bite chips
  • A small bag of Stacey’s Brownie Chips
  • A bag of vanilla marshmallows from Butter Bakery
  • Rogers Chocolates sea salt chocolate cashews
  • Vanilla-infused honey (I am deathly allergic to honey, boo hoo it smells amazing!)
  • Red wine cranberry jelly
  • A crate from Cumberland Crates (yes this is a thing, apparently)
  • Two Granville Island Brewery glasses
  • Two packages of roasted nuts
  • Beer can chicken seasoning package
Close up of the gift crate

Close up of the gift crate

Leave a Reply

