Image

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine's Day!

Yep, it’s that time again…I am personally not a huge fan of V-day (or as I like to call it, VD-Day), hah!

But, I did up some treats for friends and co-workers and family (marshmallow pops!) and will try to keep the grinchitude to a minimum.

I do love vintage Valentine’s Day cards though, they are just so cool, cute and creepy all at once!

And a quick riding re-cap: Had a lesson on Oats on Wed. and we did a run through of Training Level 1 test. Results? Well….It has been a few months since we tried doing a dressage test and it showed.

The real answer? When I stopped buying into Oats’ drama, the fighting, pulling and resistance basically went away. Oats also decided he was dramatize my ride a bit further by doing two buck-canter transitions. Ugh, thanks Oats.

I was a bit annoyed by the resistance, and his balkiness at the canter, but we let that go for a bit and cruised over two crossrails at the canter after our practice test.

They felt great. Smooth, cadenced, relaxed. Woo!

Oats was very much enjoying the fact that we were now jumping and NOT doing dressage. This, THIS I can do! He felt like he was saying to me.

Basically, it boiled down to this: If he’s fighting me a bit, I don’t need to fight back. I don’t engage, get mad and start pulling. He’ll let it go eventually.

Hmm..hard lesson to learn. I’m unfortunately also learning this lesson a bit at work. Ie- don’t take it personally and learn to let it go.

Leave a Reply

